Money: Do The Hard Work. Ben Franklin


Bill Johnson, my Father in 1945

My father told me: “Bob, don’t spend what you don’t have’.  In my life I added “Only spend if you have a committed or closed loan”.  Of course a loan will only be available if you have the income that convinces a lender that you have the capacity to pay it back.  It really is simple, but it takes a lot of discipline.  Our leaders always spend our money when they don’t have enough, and always spend without loans approved.

I heard that the President is asking the Congress for an increase in the debt limit, again, of $1,500,000,000,000 .  One Trillion, Five Hundred Billion dollars.  It happens at a time when I think the bankers, especially the youngsters, boys and girls really, in the Banks Back Room, the so-called MBA credit analysts,  are causing the continuing depression for 20% of the nation.  No lending, no jobs.

I says nuts to them all.  Boehner, McConnell, The President, the Banks,  all of them, must go.  There is not a hint of discipline or rational behavior in those who govern.  There are no adjectives to describe what is happening.  I am sorry to say that I gave a lot of money to The President last go around, but I’m loath to do it now, for he lacks the discipline needed to manage a very large enterprise.  But there is not a single candidate worth supporting.  Well maybe Hunstman.

How can three or four presidential candidates not get on the ballot in Virginia, and now sue, all because of their poor organizational skills.  They will spend more on legal fees than it would have cost them to get signatures.  I’ve run for local office and I know it is hard work to get signatures, but you must do it, or not get on the ballot.

I see no leaders in this years race.  It’s the only real thing Boehner can cry over, and I’ll join him.  So if there are no leaders that meet this simple criteria – possessing self-discipline – I just might support a radical, willing to clobber the budgets and tens of thousands of government employees.  I don’t think Americans are ready to roll over and play dead, but we will need nerves of steel to get through this decade and remain leaders.  Gotta do the work.  We all have to do the work.

Keep the guy or gal in the mirror on track.  Exert yourself, and encourage others to exert themselves to do the work.

Here’s looking at you.  Happy New Year.

An Introspector

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Money: Do The Hard Work. Ben Franklin”

  1. Bob Johnson Says:

    Ralph,
    Its ironic that Bill Clinton was the only president, other than Andrew Jackson, to generate positive cash flows. Jackson actually paid down the national debt to zero. If Bush and Obama did the same I’d probably be back sweeping floors, as I did to pay my way through school.

    No one, no business and no government can spend like our country is spending. We talked last night about the war ending and how it wold only supply a drop in the bucket of debt. Where can all that money be going? I ask Rhetorically.

    Perhaps we can dine again in Rhinebeck.
    Bob

  2. Ralph B Says:

    It’s nice to see your dad again, Bob. I had forgotten his face but of course I recognized him immediately even though he was maybe fifteen years older when I knew him.

    Your objection to Obama — that he lacks fiscal discipline — would be on my list of reasons to return him to private life, but it would only be one among dozens. I would vote for any Republican who was nominated simply because Obama is so bad that four more year of him would be a disaster for both liberty and prosperity.

    But then, you probably knew I thought that way that already.

    Happy new year, you ZMCD dandy!

    Ralph

  3. Bob Johnson Says:

    Yes Rich, there are many faceless bankers making important decisions in the banking system today. Community Bankers are supposed to out mingling with customers, and getting to know the cusotmers business. Some do and some don’t.

    Regulators (not the Jesse James gang) are contributing to the problem by ‘classifying’, which in bankers lingo means ‘downgrading’ the value of the loan, more loans, especially since small businesses rely on the value of their owners homes as collateral.

    Santorem handled himself well this morning on Meet the Press.

    Bob

  4. Rich In Spirit Says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more, Bob; and, as a former banker, you should know!

Leave a Reply

