Are Bookstores Dead?


Cathy and I love to ‘do’  bookstores to shop, buy books, have coffee and sometimes dinner.  It’s a nice date.  The one we visit the most is the Barnes and Noble in Deptford, NJ.  Tonight it was Dead.

Is This a Serial Killer

The store is completely rearranged giving an enormous amount of space to their Book Nook  – for downloading books.   Not for me.  Maybe on an iPad or something larger, but I would do so only reluctantly and then only if I can’t get a book.

I don’t want to give up books:  I like the way they feel; I like to turn the pages; I like to see them on my bookshelf (do I have to now replace the book shelves with a shelf for downloaders?  Downloaders?); I like to visit the book store with my bride;  I like bookstore dates.

And bookstores were a good place to meet people, for whatever the reason. 

God I hope bookstores are not dead.

My friend Ralph Blanchette has a book underway, and I too am working on what will certainly be a bestseller in the family.  But will there be a publisher?

And if bookstores close, do I have to go to Wal-Mart?   As the Beatles once said: no, no, no…

I read somewhere that 50% of ‘book’ sales are downloads.  I think it referred to Amazon’s sales.  I’m a big customer of Amazon, so I might apologize to Barnes and Noble for helping B & N out (of?).

It struck me tonight in the B & N cafe that the world is changing really fast, and I wondered what is happening to my business?  One thought is that coffee houses and cafe’s might benefit from downloading, since the cafe’s and coffee houses are good places to read comfortably, and still have a shot at socializing – in person.   Date nights at the Cafe.  I like that idea.

Especially if you drink KMO Coffee.  Please visit the KMO Facebook page.

Bob J.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Are Bookstores Dead?”

  1. Bob Johnson Says:

    Hello Fran,
    For sure.
    Bob

  2. Fran Says:

    I also hope bookstores are not dead.

Leave a Reply

