Which – President Obama or Governor Romney: “The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind”.


Imagine Ryan as President?

Six months ago I had about given up on President Obama, and sat laughing at the Republican primary debates.  “When will we get candidates who are truly worthy of the Presidency”, asked I of Cathy, my wife.  “Not from this bunch”, she replied.  To which I agreed, wholeheartedly .

Who would have, back then, believed that Willard Mitt Romney would get to this level.  Back then he was going to cut taxes, kill Roe v. Wade and Planned Parenthood, and disavow some of the beliefs of his own church.  No tax returns, Swiss Bank Accounts, Cayman Island Investments, Bain shipping jobs abroad, all, by golly, I thought, precluded his membership in the ‘Club’.   The most liberal medical plan ever initiated by a state, private elevators, unequal pay, killer of auto company’s, yacht-ie.  How in the world did he get here?  Answer: blowing in the wind.

And he loves Teachers, but “you can leave their unions behind”, says Willard.  He wants to kill unions too!  What is going on here?  How does he survive in the heat of presidential politics and billions of bucks debunking his beliefs. This too is the answer: Billions of Bucks.

When a republican solicitor called to ask for funds, she was heralding the selection of Ryan.  My knee Jerk reaction, for which I now feel pain . was “no way, the guys a jerk”.  And I believe this, now, and forever.  He ought to wear the Cheese Hat.

Economy is Simmering

I’m pretty sure the economy is simmering nicely at the moment, and I know the Obama Administration helped my small business over the past three years.  And I know I like the idea of being in a larger medical insurance pool, and for college more money available to my grand-kids.  And a few other things.

And I love the idea of Biden in the wings should anything happen to the President.  And truly I like the idea of President Obama setting a stage for Hillary Clinton, with that incredibly suave husband of hers.  Imagine the Clinton’s leading the world once more.  I can.

Think about this: President Ryan. By golly if this doesn’t scare your socks off, what will?  Answer:  Ryan’s Supreme Court.

Did you hear Dylan’s answer?

Yes, how many times can a man turn his head
Pretending he just doesn’t see?

Yes, how many times must a man look up
Before he can see the sky?

Yes, how many ears must one man have
Before he can hear people cry?

The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind
The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

Springsteen singing Blowing in the Wind on YouTube.  Followed by Bad Moon Rising.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Which – President Obama or Governor Romney: “The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind”.”

  1. Barbara Brenner Says:

    Thank you Bob for including me in this send. I read it when it arrived, and appreciated receiving it – especially from you, and because of conversations we had along the way. What happened under Bush killed my business – not that I didn’t make my own mistakes – but when your customers move from paying with dollars to paying with coin (summer 2007), it is a strong confirmation that something is wrong with the economy. To this day, I have no idea how I held on as long as I did. God bless you and Cathy!

    With deep respect, Barbara

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers

